Tremors (1990)

tremors-poster

Tremors, where do I begin?

While this movie is listed in the ‘horror’ category, I find that very difficult to believe.  Yes, it’s about man-eating monsters that hunt their prey underground, but it’s so over the top that it’s more comical than anything else.  It’s also rather dated special effects-wise, much like another ‘horror’ film, Gremlins.

Tremors seems like more of a mock-horror film because it’s so over the top.  Therein lies its charm. “There’s no intention to scare, classic genre stereotypes are gently mocked for viewers’ amusement, without the film ever trying to be too clever.  Charming and unpretentious fun.”

Kevin Bacon and Fred Ward make this movie.  They come across as two guys that have known each other for years, they act like brothers, and they’ve known each other so long that they’re more or less stuck with one another whether they like it or not.

As I write this I think of a few of my oldest friends and could see any combination of us ending up like Valentine and Earl.  The banter between the two provides most of the comic relief, and that’s one of the more charming aspects of this movie.  Each of them stays true to character   I can think of a few people that are like Burt (Michael Gross), but I won’t go any further than that.

Tremors is entertaining no doubt, but is more of a comical than a scary way.  That’s why I like it.  I’m not much into horror films: to date there are only 4 of the 50 that I have or would like to see.  I think the two direct-to-video sequels and additional prequel have dumbed down and lessened the impact of this film (I vaguely remember the sequels and haven’t seen Tremors 4 and probably won’t).  This film has just enough to scare but more than enough content to entertain.

My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Tremors (1990)

  1. This movie is a indeed a good time. Did you ever see “Critters” (1986) ? That was another horror/comedy/science fiction that was somewhat similar to “Tremors” in nature.

Leave a Reply

