Hello world, and All That Jazz.

Hello.

I’ll start with a short story.  About 2 years ago, I was introduced to a book: 501 Must-See Movies.  After briefly looking through the book, I realized I had already seen quite a few, perhaps 80 or 90.  There were quite a few that I had thought about watching but never got around to seeing.  I decided to start watching through the list, movie by movie.  There were some I had wanted to watch, others that I hadn’t considered, but gained interest after reading about them, and still others I have no interest in watching.

I have always been a fan of the cinema.  As time has gone by, though, I find that today’s movies more often than not rely too heavily on special effects and sad cliches and predictable stories.  In my final semester of college I took a Masterpieces of Film class, which really got me interested in watching older movies.  Whether we slugged through Gone With the Wind, or I re-lived some of my childhood watching E.T., I found the older classics far more entertaining and engaging.  Now don’t get me wrong,  I do like some of what Hollywood is putting out today, but the vast majority of it just isn’t good.

This blog will serve as a place to review movies as I watch them.  I had originally just Tweeted when I was watching a movie for the project and where it was on the list.  I had kicked the idea around of doing a blog for some time and have finally taken the plunge.  As of this posting I have watched 231 movies from “the list.”  While I would have no problem watching through these ones again, others I’d rather just leave as is.  I will do the best I can to go back and review all of those already watched.

There are some ground rules, or things about me that influence how I review.  I am a Christian, and as such there are some movies in this project (National Lampoon’s Animal House, 9 1/2 Weeks, etc.) that will simply not get reviewed.  There is a good chance that I will make observations as they relate to the life of a Christian.

I will do my best to keep politics out of my reviews.  The exception would be, of course, if politics is influential in the story being told.  For the record I tend to lean more conservatively, and that will probably show at times, but as I said I will try to keep this to a minimum.

The book I am using is the 501 Must-See Movies, Revised and Updated edition.  The original book was put out in 2005, and this one came out two years ago.  The list is broken up into 10 categories, with about 50 movies in each category.  They are Action/Adventure & Epic, Comedy, Drama, Horror, Musical, Romance, Science Fiction/Fantasy, Mystery/Thriller, War, and Western.  I am not a fan of horror movies, so there will be very few of those reviewed.  Otherwise I’m open to all the other categories.

Leave a Reply

